Thyme Honey

honey



Click to hear Thyme Honey

This song is called Thyme Honey and I made it in Garageband a long time ago. Just found it on my computer so I figured I may as well post it. It’s a sort of soundtrack/ambient/experimental track. I used a recording of bottles clanking that I found on Freesound, and ran them through KT Granulator and also through Expert Sleepers Crossfade Loop Synth (which is like a really old fashioned sampler). Crossfade Loop Synth is pretty rudimentary, but you can do some really cool things with your samples, really quickly. Can’t remember which synth I used, although at that time I think I had Eve and Alpha. KT Granulator is linked in the Freeware section.

bottles

did you know that glass can be recycled as insulation and concrete?

Still playing with Inkscape and Pixelmator. I think I need to get a graphics tablet to get the most out of it though. Although I haven’t really learned the basics yet, being able to draw easily would make the whole process a lot more intuitive and fun.

wrong way

wrong way to do it, ergonomically speaking

I am a complete hack right now, but I always find it exciting to learn how to do something new.

right way

the right way

My daughter Sophie is in pre-school and needed a picture of her favorite sea animal. The Beluga Whale. Just to make it fun I put her in the picture riding a Sea Turtle (although she prefers the Leatherback Sea Turtle). This was done in Pixelmator, which is kind of like a poor mans PhotoShop; think Reaper for pictures.

baby beluga

did you know that Raffi wrote “Baby Beluga”?

This is something I threw together for my online music collaborative APOD. Was experimenting with the function in Inkscape that turns a picture into a bitmap. Still trying to figure out how to re-arrange the bitmap so that i can use the fill tool on different sections. Right now if I click on it, there is just one bitmap and it fills the whole thing. I would read the manual, but it’s just soo horrible.

apod poster silver

APOD will return soon

Thinking I was going to start a series of musical items from my past, I threw together this picture of the Small Stone (god I wish I still had one of these).

small stone

Seemed like a good time to experiment with the text features as well, so I added text. My friend Tom said that the sentiment of this picture inspired him to right a song. I like that.

small stone text

One response

  1. Sookie

    I haven’t been over to look at your blog in a month or so- I just wanted to comment that I am envious of the look and I am glad you are still finding time to put stuff up. x Colleen

    06/26/2011 at 00:08

Leave a Reply

