How Did You?

Photobucket

How Did You (End Up Here With Me)?

Remember when MTV had that whole unplugged thing going on? Most of it was so awful, that you were just embarrassed for people. There was a really horrible one with Rod Stewart and Ron Wood (who I love), but they just reminded me of the women on Absolutely Fabulous. I felt completely uncomfortable watching it.

Photobucket

With that in mind, I do have a weakness for acoustic music: country, blues, folk, pop. The whole stripped down thing really appeals to me. Used to do a lot of acoustic shows at one point, was a great way to try out songs and do songs that my band wanted nothing to do with. I also didn’t have to share whatever money I made.

Photobucket

When doing those shows, I would usually bring along some sort of accompanying noise makers (casio, drum machine, cheap analog synth, harmonica, etc…). Was fun to just mix it up a bit, but also made up for deficiencies I might have in playing acoustic guitar.

Photobucket

Recently I recorded a couple of acoustic tunes. Hints of the Beatles, Simon and Garfunkel, Elliot Smith, Nick Drake; all the obvious influences a past his prime indie rock guy from my generation would have.

Photobucket

This song was recorded really quickly, with nothing but my guitar and one crappy mic. I added a couple of background vocals and called it a day. Probably should have spent some time on the EQ side of things (especially since my acoustic is such a hunk of crap), but not my style. I like to just pump ’em out.

Photobucket

This song isn’t really about anyone in particular, just a lifetime of not really having the whole “mature relationship” figured out. I think I’m getting better at it though.

2 responses

  1. Vicki Jacobson

    How come you’re not doing movie soundtracks? It would be fun, don’t you think?

    01/12/2010 at 00:31

    • rabbitearsmotel

      yeah, think that would be super fun. oh well.

      01/12/2010 at 05:32

Leave a Reply

