What’s in the Air?

Photobucket

What’s In The Air?

This song began as a challenge to write a song that featured a really horrible guitar loop; it was like an 80’s hair metal riff. I kept picturing Brett Michael’s yelling “Pick up that guitar and talk to me.”

Photobucket

The loop is all over in the song, but I stretched it, reversed it, ran it through a ring modulator and and a feedback loop in Pluggo. Now it just sounds like noise. I may re-mix this one; would like the drums to be a little more present and the vocals to sound airier, but doubt I’ll ever get around to that.

Photobucket

I used PodFarm for the guitars; the AC30 amp and a Marshall that I tweaked a little bit. A lot of people are off PodFarm, but I think it sounds pretty good. Sometimes you might have driver issues (I’ve had them twice), but they have been pretty easy to diagnose and fix so far. The one problem I have with it is that you can’t automate it in Logic; so you basically just turn it on and record. It also kind of bugs that you need to leave the interface for it plugged in until you bounce your track out.

Photobucket

I was thinking of the 90’s shoegaze bands when I wrote this (like Ride in particular). I always enjoyed those bands, the whole wall of sound with harmonies over the top of it really worked for me.

Photobucket

This was recorded on Garageband before I got Logic, and I posted it so that a friend could see/hear that Garageband was more than just a toy. If you want to really get into it, you can do some pretty cool stuff with it. This was recorded with pretty low end stuff: an MXL USB mic, mixed on headphones (typically frowned upon by audiophiles); nothing that really cost a lot of money.

Don’t forget to buy Brian Eno’s new record. It’s one long song, so you can get it for 99 cents

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

