Pills Are So Pretty

Photobucket

Click here to hear the song Sleeping

I have this friend Bryn, met him online. Depending on his mood, he can be found under many different monikers (Particle Dots and Biba Nova to name a couple). Originally from England, he now lives in the American desert. Don’t know how he puts up with the heat, he is such the Engish gentleman.

Photobucket

Bryn is a master at recording with Logic, they guy has been using it since it was a PC app. I am consistently blown away by the tracks that he does. It’s not only technical expertise either: his music is very smart yet emotional, like a waking state with a beat. He’ll use synths, found sounds and extensive automation to craft  these really incredible songs. I don’t even want to compare him to anyone, but I will say that his love of Eno is but one element of his sound. Even though Bryn pretty much exclusively works in the electronic realm (genre-wise) and I come from more of an indie rock background, we have found a lot of common ground. We both love experimentation, happenstance and sound for sounds sake. we have done a few collaborations, and this song “Sleeping” is one of my favorites.

Photobucket

Bryn put the original tracks  that he had put together online and was kind enough to let me have a go at them. He sent me some synth tracks, a bass track, a piano part and a loop he made from an acoustic guitar; played from start to finish, it was about 40 seconds long. The tracks reminded both of us of Bowie (because of the piano part), but with a sleepy digital feel.  The intent (at least on my end) was to recall a narcotic induced daydream; a sort of lullaby that just floats there until you stop hearing it.

Photobucket

I loaded the individual tracks into Garageband (didn’t have Logic yet) and re-arranged everything so that I could build a vocal part and an arrangement. I added vocals, a slide guitar part (total Gilmour rip-off), and some electronic percussion. By the time I was through, the song was about 4 and 1/2 minutes long.

Photobucket

Haven’t listened to this in awhile, but now upon hearing it again I think I may dump the files into Logic and take another swing at it. I think the end could have been more interesting (rather than a fade out), there are some pops on the vocal track, and it could maybe use some EQ and a little razzle dazzle. I was going to give it to Bryn to mix, but life came up and both of us were busy. So I did a mix that pales in comparison to what he would have done (but that’s how I learn). The end result is kind of like Air covering a one hit wonder from the Carnaby Street psych scene in 1968.

Photobucket

I’m not sure what exactly Bryn used to record, he can be very mysterious; as an example I am unable to put up a link to his music as he has apparently taken it all down. He’ll post like 212 songs, and then pull them all. 2 weeks later he has recorded a whole bunch more. If I can find a link, I will post it as he really needs to be heard.

I used an MXL USB mic, an M-audio 49 e keyboard for about 46 seconds at the end, my trusty fender tele, a metal slide and the line 6 toneport.

One response

  1. Michael

    Thank you very much for this unexpected write up

    You left me speechless

    Bryn

    09/30/2009 at 22:48

Leave a Reply

