Lo-Fi Cover Songs

broken heart

I have been able to hook up with an old friend lately, and we started talking about making some music together again. Sounds like a great idea to me, years ago we put out a couple of records together. So I was playing him some of the stuff I have been working on. I record on my mac with Logic, and have basically been experimenting and trying to get a grasp on the software.

My friend really liked the music I sent him, but he also pointed out that I had completely gotten away from my “lo-fi indie rock” roots. As much as I like to branch out and be open minded, I had to admit that he was right. There is a part of me that will always love listening to a terrible sounding recording, with tons of tape hiss and a off key singer whining over the top of a sloppy band.

With that in mind, here are 2 covers I did.

The first is by Guided by Voices; it’s called Kicker of Elves. I recorded this on a Tascam 4 track, with a crappy classical guitar. I used an SM57 to record the vocals and the guitar. The psychedelic sounds you hear are me blowing into the mic while it’s plugged into a flanger.
“Kicker of Elves”

The second song is by Cat Power; it’s called Metal Heart. One of my favorites. This has my old out of tune upright piano, some guitar run through a cheap delay pedal, and my friend scott doing a human beatbox through a toy megaphone that distorted it to death. Hope Chan approves.
“Metal Heart”

I want to pimp my wife while i’m here. she is an art director, and besides being aesthetically pleasing herself, she has a keen eye for art. her mission: that everyone in the world has cool art and doesn’t go broke getting it. her website has a new show each month from all kinds of unknown and semi-famous types doing paintings, photography, and any other kind of art you can think of. go check it out:
http://www.artforemptywalls.com

Leave a Reply

